14 September 2017, Bangalore
Status: Accepting votes

About the conference: ReactFoo is a single-day React conference by HasGeek.

We’ll be annoucing the theme shortly

Format

We are inviting proposals for:
Full-length 40 minute talks.
Crisp 15-minute talks.
Hands-on Workshop sessions, 3 and 6 hour duration.

Selection process

Proposals will be filtered and shortlisted by an Editorial Panel. Please make sure to add links to videos / slide decks when submitting proposals. This will help us understand your speaking experience and delivery style. Blurbs or blog posts covering the relevance of a particular problem statement and how it is tackled will help the Editorial Panel better judge your proposals. We might contact you to ask if you’d like to repost your content on the official conference blog.

We expect you to submit an outline of your proposed talk – either in the form of a mind map or a text document or draft slides within two weeks of submitting your proposal.

Selection Process Flowchart

You can check back on this page for the status of your proposal. We will notify you if we either move your proposal to the next round or if we reject it. Selected speakers must participate in one or two rounds of rehearsals before the conference. This is mandatory and helps you to prepare well for the conference.

A speaker is NOT confirmed a slot unless we explicitly mention so in an email or over any other medium of communication.

There is only one speaker per session. Entry to the conference is free for selected speakers. As our budget is limited, we prefer speakers from locations closer home, but will do our best to cover for anyone exceptional. HasGeek provides these limited grants where applicable: two international travel and accommodation grants, three domestic travel and accommodation grants. Grants are limited and made available to speakers delivering full sessions (40 minutes or longer). Speaker travel grants will be given in order of preference to students, women, persons of non-binary genders, and individuals for Asia and Africa first.

Commitment to open source

HasGeek believes in open source as the binding force of our community. If you are describing a codebase for developers to work with, we’d like for it to be available under a permissive open source licence. If your software is commercially licensed or available under a combination of commercial and restrictive open source licences (such as the various forms of the GPL), please consider picking up a sponsorship. We recognise that there are valid reasons for commercial licensing, but ask that you support us in return for giving you an audience. Your session will be marked on the schedule as a “sponsored session”.

Important dates:

Deadline for submitting proposals: 23 August 2017

Conference date: 14 September 2017

Contact

For more information about speaking proposals, tickets and sponsorships, contact info@hasgeek.com or call +91 76763 32020.

Please note, we will not evaluate proposals that do not have a slide deck and a video in them.

Confirmed sessions

# Speaker Section Level +1 Submitted
1 Delivering Instant Update Patches for React Native to 50+ million people    
Surya Kanoria (@surya0507) Crisp Talk Intermediate 13 2 Sun, 20 Aug
2 Shared Element Transition with React Native  
Narendra N Shetty (@narendrashetty) Full Talk Intermediate 16 3 Mon, 14 Aug
3 The Road to Styled Components, and the Road Ahead  
Glen Maddern 😎 (@glenmaddern) Full Talk Intermediate 2 0 Tue, 8 Aug
4 Importance of testing & Right way to test React components    
manjula dube (@manjulad) Crisp Talk Intermediate 3 0 Sat, 5 Aug
5 Improving Load time of a Production React App  
Kanav Arora (@kanavarora) Full Talk Intermediate 3 2 Wed, 2 Aug
6 Componentization Patterns in React    
Abraar Syed (@abraarsyed) Crisp Talk Intermediate 10 2 Sun, 18 Jun
7 Isolated react components as a black box with automated UI testing  
Vivek Jagtap (@vivekjagtap011) Crisp Talk Intermediate 12 2 Thu, 15 Jun
8 Better Async with Redux Saga    
Kushan Joshi (@kepta) Crisp Talk Intermediate 14 3 Thu, 15 Jun
9 A portal to the future
Siddharth Kshetrapal (@sidkp) Full Talk Intermediate 8 1 Sat, 3 Jun
10 Building apps in react native that are extensible to any platform (IOS, Android, Windows Phone, Web, Desktop, Electron and even VR*)
Atul R (@atulanand94) Workshop Intermediate 8 2 Sun, 28 May
11 An intro to DraftJS, and its immutable data model  
Sai Kishore Komanduri (@saiki) Full Talk Intermediate 13 2 Tue, 2 May
12 Consuming services reliably in Redux without losing your mind
Sidhartha Chatterjee (@sidharthachatterjee) Crisp Talk Intermediate 19 1 Wed, 15 Mar

Unconfirmed proposals

# Speaker Section Level +1 Submitted
1 Internationalising your React app
Prashant Baisla (@pbaisla) Crisp Talk Beginner 1 1 Wed, 23 Aug
2 Introduction to Preact - small, fast react alternative
Anup Kumar (@anup07) Full Talk Intermediate 2 3 Wed, 23 Aug
3 Relay and GraphQL together will make the React framework shine
Jonathan Pereira (@jonathan) Crisp Talk Beginner 2 1 Sun, 20 Aug
4 Enriching Developer Experience using React Native    
Muskein Singh (@muskein) Crisp Talk Intermediate 6 2 Sun, 20 Aug
5 Offline First Applications with React Ecosystem: A Primer
Mihir Khatwani (@mihirkhatwani) Full Talk Intermediate 1 1 Sat, 12 Aug
6 12 Days of Backend
Mihir Khatwani (@mihirkhatwani) Full Talk Intermediate 1 1 Sat, 12 Aug
7 How we built Unity - Myntra’s Enterprise UI platform in React!    
Vijaya Krishna Kudva (@nvkudva) Full Talk Intermediate 22 3 Wed, 9 Aug
8 Lessons from building React app to Visualize Data    
Akshay Verma (@akshayverma295) Full Talk Beginner 4 1 Wed, 26 Jul
9 60fps made easy with cross platform RecyclerListView
Talha Naqvi (@naqvitalha) Crisp Talk Intermediate 4 0 Tue, 25 Jul
10 Isolated react components as a black box with automated UI testing    
Vivek Jagtap (@vivekjagtap011) Full Talk Intermediate 3 4 Thu, 22 Jun
11 Do you really want to Server Side Render your React App?
Jaikanth Kumaran (@jaikant) Crisp Talk Intermediate 6 1 Fri, 16 Jun
12 How GraphQL will help your lean startup iterate faster.
Jaikanth Kumaran (@jaikant) Crisp Talk Intermediate 3 1 Fri, 16 Jun
13 Async State Management with Observables  
Siddharth Jain (@f0rr0) Crisp Talk Intermediate 14 2 Fri, 16 Jun
14 React Native Internals - How it works
Akhil Gupta (@akhilgupta) Full Talk Intermediate 15 2 Wed, 14 Jun
15 A gentle introduction to ReactNative Animated    
Nash Vail (@nashvail) Full Talk Intermediate 3 3 Wed, 14 Jun
16 Building, Maintaining and Promoting an Open Source Project (NativeBase Story)
Sanket Sahu Full Talk Intermediate 4 4 Sat, 10 Jun
17 Unit Testing React Applications    
Deepak Pai (@deepakpai) Full Talk Intermediate 14 0 Sun, 4 Jun
18 The life of CSS and its future with React  
Siddharth Kshetrapal (@sidkp) Crisp Talk Beginner 7 0 Sat, 3 Jun
19 The React architecture for performance and productivity (Intermediate)
Siddharth Kshetrapal (@sidkp) Workshop Intermediate 5 1 Sat, 3 Jun
20 React Beginners Workshop
Siddharth Kshetrapal (@sidkp) Workshop Beginner 0 0 Sat, 3 Jun
21 Building applications for the next billion users  
Siddharth Kshetrapal (@sidkp) Full Talk Intermediate 3 0 Sat, 3 Jun
22 React with MOBX
Rahil Lakhani (@rahillakhani) Full Talk Beginner 4 1 Wed, 31 May
23 Practical performance tips building Progressive web apps  
Narendra N Shetty (@narendrashetty) Full Talk Intermediate 5 0 Tue, 9 May
24 Building a mobile app (iOS & Android) using React Native
Sanket Sahu Intermediate 12 0 Mon, 6 Mar
25 State maintenance with Redux in a multi layered Javascript Application  
VARSHA SAHA (@varshasaha) Intermediate 27 3 Tue, 28 Feb
26 Libraries that make React Native more powerful
Souvik Basu (@souvikbasu) Beginner 10 2 Wed, 8 Feb